BLOOMING BEAUTIES

SWEET STORY/ these blooming beauties have a sweet story behind them.  A few weeks ago while my lovely friend Katherine was visiting with her grandma my name was mentioned here-and-there as she told her about her latest adventures {as I had mentioned before we love our visits to the market}. The following day after her visit with her grandma Katherine had a sweet surprise for me- two bulbs. I was excited to watch the bulbs grow into blooms.

thank you/ grandma linda for these blooming beauties!

Here there are sitting on the windowsill in the bedroom. They also made a little visit into class where they sat on my drafting table. I was glad to share the wonderful smell with my classmates. The aroma from the blooms was strong enough that it was not even necessary to get up close and personal with them.

VINTAGE TOUCH/ these blooms are growing in one of my recent vintage finds. Does my “flower pot” look familiar? Yes that’s right- my blooming beauties are sitting in a gravy boat. It was a win win situation- not only am I going to actually have a measuring cup gravy boat this Thanksgiving but my blooms are able to sit nice and pretty too. I also am getting to use it more than once a year {in all reality- who really sets a gravy goat on the table other then on the third Thursday of November}. The sea glass holding the bulbs and roots in place has collected over the years by Grandma Linda.

I cannot help but wonder where dainty gravy boat has been. The bottom of this ceramic piece reads, “1814 Mutshcnreuther- Germany- Victoria©.”

3 thoughts on “BLOOMING BEAUTIES”

  1. Hi Claudia,
    I’m glad you are enjoying the bulbs. I love this time of year as we have so much beauty to look forward to as spring appears. I hope you can come for a visit this summer. Do you like raspberries?

  2. Hello Grandma Linda! I love that here in WA there is greenery to look forward to in the spring time after a very brown winter. It is nice to watch seasons come and go. I would love to visit some time in the summer and yes I do like raspberries- they’re one of my favorites. Thank you again so very much for the gift. I just walked in the door and instantly could smell my blooms!

Leave a Reply

